Church of Our Lady of Victories – Eglise Notre Dame des Victoires

Notre Dame Des Victoires Church, Bush Street, San Francisco, Kalifornija, Združene države Amerike

Website of the Sanctuary

415 397 0113

Every day: from 7.00 am to 7.00 pm

Church of Our Lady of Victories – Eglise Notre Dame des Victoires continues its ministry to the French Catholics and consists of a vibrant, cross-cultural, cross-generational and international faith community.

Church of Our Lady of Victories  

Church of Our Lady of Victories - Eglise Notre Dame des Victoires

Eglise Notre Dame des Victoires was founded in 1856 to serve the spiritual needs of the French Catholic immigrants who came to San Francisco during the Gold Rush.

In 1887, Pope Leo XIII signed the decree placing Eglise Notre Dame des Victoires under the charge of the Marists for perpetuity and giving it the designation of being a French National Church. See more Catholic Shrines and pilgrimages in North America.

See top 15 Catholic shrines around the world

School of Our Lady of Victories 

In 1924, two Marist fathers, Père Henri Gerard, S.M. and Père Louis LeBihan, S.M., founded Ecole Notre Dame des Victoires.

Acting upon the encouragement of Archbishop Edward J. Hanna, they were eager to establish the school as a center of French culture – a Catholic school where students would learn French as well as English.

The school, located at the site of the church for which it is named, opened on January 24, 1924 with a small enrollment.

Although Notre Dame des Victoires began with these fourteen students, the formal opening of the school took place on August 18, 1924 with an enrollment that had grown to 123 students. At this time, Sister Mary Charles Lirette, C.S.J. was appointed principal.

She remained in that position until 1946. The school was entirely staffed for many years by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Orange (CSJ).

Today, while sisters are no longer present; however, the lall lay staff continues to embrace the CSJ charism through their participation in the CSJ Educational Network which promotes Catholic identity, fosters personal and professional excellence, reverences the dignity of all persons, and educates for justice.

In 1949, Père LeBihan, S.M. expanded the school to include five additional classrooms, a library, science laboratory, as well as a convent.

Church of Our Lady of Victories  

Eglise Notre Dame des Victoires was founded in 1856 to serve the spiritual needs of the French Catholic immigrants who came to San Francisco during the Gold Rush. In 1887, Pope Leo XIII signed the decree placing Eglise Notre Dame des Victoires under the charge of the Marists for perpetuity and giving it the designation of being a French National Church.

The Church building was rededicated in 1915 after rising from the ashes of the 1906 Earthquake and Great Fire. The City of San Francisco declared Eglise Notre Dame des Victoires as a historical landmark in 1984. After the 1989 Earthquake, the Church and Rectory underwent retrofitting in record time. The retrofit was fully paid with all funds coming from parishioners and parish fundraising activities.

Under the leadership of Fr. Rene Iturbe, S.M., Eglise Notre Dame des Victoires continues its ministry to the French Catholics and consists of a vibrant, cross-cultural, cross-generational and international faith community.

The school opened in 1924 in order to serve the area’s growing French community. Today, the school maintains its long-standing tradition of educating all children in the French language and culture. The Marist Fathers and the Sisters of St. Joseph of Orange were instrumental in the establishment of the school and continue to be involved in the running and direction of the school.

School of Our Lady of Victories 

In 1924, two Marist fathers, Père Henri Gerard, S.M. and Père Louis LeBihan, S.M., founded Ecole Notre Dame des Victoires. Acting upon the encouragement of Archbishop Edward J. Hanna, they were eager to establish the school as a center of French culture – a Catholic school where students would learn French as well as English. The school, located at the site of the church for which it is named, opened on January 24, 1924 with a small enrollment.

Although Notre Dame des Victoires began with these fourteen students, the formal opening of the school took place on August 18, 1924 with an enrollment that had grown to 123 students. At this time, Sister Mary Charles Lirette, C.S.J. was appointed principal. She remained in that position until 1946. The school was entirely staffed for many years by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Orange (CSJ). Today, while sisters are no longer present; however, the lall lay staff continues to embrace the CSJ charism through their participation in the CSJ Educational Network which promotes Catholic identity, fosters personal and professional excellence, reverences the dignity of all persons, and educates for justice.

In 1949, Père LeBihan, S.M. expanded the school to include five additional classrooms, a library, science laboratory, as well as a convent.

In May 2006, the church of Notre Dame des Victoires celebrated its one hundred fiftieth anniversary. The school now has an enrollment of approximately 300 students, drawn from the greater Bay Area and representing many diverse ethnic backgrounds.

NDV continues to provide the unique educational experience envisioned by its founders.

Posted in North America and United States